Skip to main content

Inside Look

Wilder Named Higher Education Environmental Educator of the Year

Melinda Wilder Higher Education Environmental Educator of the Year

Retired Eastern Kentucky University Professor, Dr. Melinda Wilder has been recognized by the North American Association for Environmental Education (NAAEE) as the 2019 Higher Education Educator of the Year. names EKU's Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) as BEST VALUE for graduate level teacher certification

Best Value Star

EKU’s Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program has been recognized by as a low-cost and high-quality master’s degree to prepare individuals for a career in teaching.

Adolescent Literacy Project 2019


In late July, 21 local teachers gathered at Caudill Middle School for four days of learning centered around adolescent literacy. The Adolescent Literacy Project, led by Co-Directors Dr. Dorie Combs and Dr. Eileen Shanahan, is sponsored by the Collaborative Center for Literacy Development (CCLD).

CAPT-Richmond Professional Development


On August 1st, participants in the Clinical Apprenticeship for the Preparation of Teachers Program (CAPT-Richmond) participated in an exciting day of professional development at EKU.  Educational sessions on co-teaching, differentiation, and technology were offered throughout the day.  These sessions were conducted by pre-service teachers, EKU instructors, and Corbin (CAPT

College of Education Graduates 230 Students During Spring Commencement

Commencement spring 2019

On May 11 230 College of Education Students, families and friends gathered to celebrated their graduation from Eastern Kentucky University in Alumni Coliseum.  During the graduation ceremony 108 bachelor degrees, 115 master degrees, 4 doctorate and 8 specialist degrees were awarded to College of Education students.

Dr. Cynthia Resor selected EKU Foundation Professor

2019-2021 EKU Foundation Professor

Dr. Cynthia Williams Resor, professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, was recently selected as a 2019-2021 EKU Foundation Professor.

Dr. McCardle awarded Scholarship Grant

Dr. Todd McCardle

Todd McCardle, Curriculum and Instruction Assistant Professor, was awarded a University-Funded Scholarship Grant to study pre-service teacher cultural competency. The research will examine ways future teachers become culturally competent and how their lived experiences impact their approaches to addressing diverse student needs.

C & I Faculty 2018-19 Award Winners

C & I Faculty 2018-19 Award Winners

Congratulations to C & I faculty recognized at the 2nd Annual EKU Faculty Award Ceremony on April 8, 2019. (L-R) Dr. Connie Hodge is a Critical Thinking Teaching award winner; Dr. Cynthia Resor is the Faculty Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Award winnder; and Dr. Michelle Gremp is a Critical Thinking Teaching award winner.

Summer Class in Yellowstone National Park

Summer Class in Yellowstone National Park
Can substitute for EKU's BIO 500/700 or EMS 563/763
Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/