Skip to main content

Middle Grades Education

Middle Grades Education (5-9) Teaching

Bachelor of Science (B.S.)

Concentrations (Areas of Emphasis):  

Students seeking middle grade (5-9) certification must select two areas of emphasis from:

  • English and Communications
  • Mathematics
  • Science,
  • Social Studies

Students may choose a dual certification in one middle grades content area (math, science, English, or social studies) AND one of the following special education areas:

Four Year Plans for Middle Grades

Univerity Graduation Requirements (p. 137-138)

For more information contact:

  • Dr. Stacey Korson, Undergraduate Program Coordinator (Combs 103)
  • Dr. Maria Manning, Learning and Behavior Disorders Program Coorindator (Combs 112)
  • Dr. Michelle Gremp, Deaf and Hard of Hearing Program Coordinator (Combs 212)

Upon completion of a degree in Middle Grade Education, candidates will: (1) demonstrate the broad general background knowledge, dispositions, and skills necessary to function as a literate, informed, active citizen, and to serve as a model for middle level students; (2) demonstrate the pedagogical skills and content knowledge necessary to perform as effective middle level educators. (3) demonstrate the appropriate dispositions to effectively meet the diverse needs of middle level students found in public schools.

Candidates earning a degree that leads to teacher certification must take the PRAXIS Series (Professional Assessments for Beginning Teachers) and PLT (Principles of Learning and Teaching) exams as a requirement for graduation.  Candidates are encouraged to review the schedule for PRAXIS and PLT registration deadlines prior to beginning the senior year ( and ).  Specialty exams are required for each certification area sought and it may take more than one test date to complete all requirements.  Candidates should confer with their education advisor/counselor to determine the most optimal time to take required exams. For additional information, candidates may also contact the EPSB Division of Professional Learning and Assessment at (859) 564-5778 or (888) 598-7667 (toll free).

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/